Violoncello Obbligato Edition


Cellist and scholar, Alessandro is currently focusing on the early use of the instrument as an obbigato instrument, i.e., not part of the continuo.  In Northern Italy after 1685 the violoncello began to appear regularly as an obbligato instrument in opera and oratorio arias. Domenico Gabrielli, Bernardo Sabadini and Giovanni Bononcini composed more than twenty-five such arias, although already in the 1670s other composers sporadically employed the obbligato violoncello in arias, and by the early 1690s its use was relatively widespread. Despite the ongoing debate on the early violoncello’s playing position and the recent surge of interest in the reduced sound of the late seventeenth-century performing ensemble in Italian opera, no publication is available to players of these relatively-unknown arias. These three critically-edited volumes bring together for the first time Gabrielli's, Sabadini's and Bononcini’s solo-obbligato violoncello arias, i.e. arias scored for voice, violoncello and continuo. In addition, Violoncello Obbligato Edition aims to publish other contemporary compositions with interesting cello parts such as Antonio Gianotti's Italian Dances for two violins and cello or violin and cello.

Each volume is available as a digital pdf. The password to open the file will be sent to your email within 24h of payment. This is only accepted through paypal, just press the 'buy now' button and follow the instructions. Once purchased, the file can be printed and viewed directly on your computer or mobile device using the password provided.

When buying any volume of the Violoncello Obbligato Edition, you agree to the following conditions. You are licensed to print as many copies as you like, but uniquely for personal use. However, you may print and distribute enough copies for the performers of your ensemble. It is your responsability to inform the other players of these copyright restrictions.

In all other circumstances, you may not distribute the file to others. You may not send a copy via email or through the web. You may not copy the file to any other device unless you are the owner and the sole user. You may not print paper copies to distribute to others.

Any infrangement of copyright will be prosecuted according to UK law. The copyright owner is Alessandro Sanguineti.

Domenico Gabrielli, The Solo-Obbligato Violoncello Arias


‘Se il tiranno caderà’ – Il Rodoaldo (Male soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Se ragion consiglia’ – Il Clearco (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Bellezza tiranna’ – Il Clearco (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Mesti pensieri’ – Il Maurizio (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Sì bella io spererò’ – Silvio Rè d’Alba (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Vuoi tù lasciarmi amore’ - Silvio Rè d’Alba (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)






Bernardo Sabadini, The Solo-Obbligato Violoncello Arias


‘Un laberinto al giubilo’ – Zenone il tiranno (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

 ‘Veder quel che m’adora’ – Zenone il tiranno (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

 ‘Amor fammi goder’ – Olimpia placata (Male soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Creder alla speranza’ – L’Ercole trionfante (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Penar per un bel volto’ – L’Ercole trionfante (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Se il mio pregar’ – L’Ercole trionfante (Male soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Amar e non mirar l’oggetto’ – Hierone tiranno di Siracusa (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

 ‘Risana cor mio’ – Amor spesso inganna (Alto, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Preparati a gioir’ – Amor spesso inganna (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Chi spera di goder’– Amor spesso inganna (Alto, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Spero di ridere’– Amor spesso inganna (Soprano, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Amor le tue faville’ – Amor spesso inganna (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Sol da te mio bel conforto’– La pace fra’ Tolomeo e Seleuco (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)






Giovanni Bononcini, The Solo-Obbligato Violoncello Arias


‘Venir, pugnar e vincere’ – Il Giosuè (Bass, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Posto abbiam ne’ nostri acciari’ – Il Giosuè (Tenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Sempre invitto e sempre forte’ – Il Giosuè (Countertenor, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Chi serva la beltà’ – La Maddalena (Soprano*, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘L’interesse sol prevale’ (Bass, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Non c’è affet’ò parentela’ (Bass, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘L’amicizia si tradisce’ (Bass, Violoncello, Continuo)

‘Non si stimano che gl’ori’ (Bass, Violoncello, Continuo)






Antonio Gianotti, Italian Dances a 2, a 3


Violin and cello, 2 violins and cello


This edition contains the score and separate parts. The source is I-MOe Mus. G. 87. Please see the PDF preview here below for the list of dances.